Patty Griffin with John Fullbright

with: John Fullbright

American Kid, Patty Griffin’s seventh album, is her first album of mainly new material since Children Running Through in 2007. In between, she made the Grammy Award-winning Downtown Church (2010), her version of classic gospel (though it featured three original songs). She also became a member of Band of Joy, the group in which leader Robert Plant and his cohorts meld British and American folk, rock and spiritual music.

American Kid
, much of which Griffin says “was written to honor my father,” returns to typical Patty Griffin territory, which is to say that it features a group of remarkably powerful, personal and unpredictable songs arranged and performed in a style that doesn’t entirely repeat anything she’s done on her previous albums while drawing on all of them. Yet Griffin’s catalog is among the most unified in modern popular music, because her singing is as unmistakable and inimitable as her songwriting.

The Fillmore Blog

  • Drive-By Truckers announce 3 night stand...

    We're quiiiite pleased to welcome Drive-By Truckers to our fair stage November 2...

  • On sale this weekend: The Kills, Patty G...

    Returning faves and acts on the rise, that's what this Fall is made of... Get ti...

  • BROODS fall tour cancelled - including 1...

    Due to scheduling conflicts, BROODS will no longer be hitting the road on their ...

  • Sponsors

  • citi
  • Latest Posts

  • Drive-By Truckers announce 3 night stand at the Fillmore this Nov...

    On sale this weekend: The Kills, Patty Griffin and more

    BROODS fall tour cancelled - including 10/1 at the Fillmore

    On sale this week: BROODS, Betty Who & more

    WATCH (& re-watch): The War On Drugs on Letterman